Restrictions for California Drivers can be a Hassle
First time drivers have certain restrictions on their driving privileges for the first 12 months they are driving in California. Provisional licenses are a way that the state tries to reduce accidents while first-time drivers are gaining more experience behind the wheel.
Ticket Snipers can help you fight a California traffic ticket so that you can keep your driving privileges. It is extremely important that you protect your driving record. Our professionals are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for your convenience. Contact our office now to discuss how we can help you avoid traffic court and traffic school by getting your ticket dismissed.
Restrictions for the First Year of Driving
Teenage drivers under 18 years of age have the following restrictions on their provisional driver’s license:
- Must obey all California traffic laws;
- Must not have any collisions;
- Cannot drive between the hours of 11 pm and 5 am; and,
- Cannot have anyone in the vehicle under the age of 20 unless a parent, guardian, licensed driver over 25 years of age or a certified driving instructor is also in the vehicle.
In addition to the above restrictions, drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using any electronic communication devices while driving, including hands-free cell phones.
Exceptions to the Restrictions on a California Provisional Driver’s License
There are several exceptions to the rules for a provisional driver’s license; however, you must meet strict guidelines for these exceptions to apply.
- Job requirements - You must have a signed statement from your employer stating why you need to drive your vehicle as part of your job and not simply for transportation to and from your job.
- Medical Necessity - Signed statement from a doctor explaining why you need to drive outside of the hours allowed by your provisional license.
- School Event - Signed by the principal explaining the authorized school event.
- Family Necessity - A statement signed by a parent or legal guardian explaining the acceptable family necessity requiring you to drive outside of the restricted hours
Violating the Restrictions on a Provisional License
There are severe consequences for violating the restrictions for driving under the age of 18 in California. Judges can order community service in some situations in addition to fines. Your license can be restricted or suspended for some violations. Accidents involving personal injury can result in fines of up to $30,000 if someone dies because of the accident. Property damage in an accident can result in a fine of up to $5,000.
Are You Ready to Fight Your California Traffic Ticket?
We will fight your traffic ticket and win or you get your money back. Do not assume that paying the fine and pleading guilty to a traffic violation is the only option that you have for dealing with a California traffic ticket. Our traffic ticket dismissal service is very successful in getting rid of tickets for drivers throughout California.