A driver’s habit is established early in their driving history. A life changing or traumatic event may deter the way that the driver operates a vehicle on a normal basis. Drivers can create a balance of good driving habits as well as incorporate some bad ones.
Driving habits become a part of who we are as drivers, and can influence the way we live our lives. All too often, a driver will operate a vehicle in a risky manner knowing the potential danger. If a driver is successful in nothing happening or escaping danger, they have the potential to repeatedly continue the bad driving habit. The drivers that continue to demonstrate poor habits usually receive traffic violations. Bad driving habits can come at a substantial price.
GOOD vs. BAD
Bad driving habits are usually ones that can be corrected with them replacing with good driving habits. Breaking a bad habit requires a consistent, repetitive, conscious awareness of one’s action and response. If a driver is a person who easily becomes distracted, it is good practice that the driver places a cell phone on hands free device.
Do not use a cellular device unless in emergency purposes
Also, make sure that all items such as papers, change, or other gadgets are secure in another location as to not provide a reason to become distracted. Another common bad driving habit is speeding. If a driver is heavy on the pedal, they should make an effort to drive at the posted speed limit.
Prepare for red lights before approaching them by doing so with caution driving at safe speeds. Do not make a turn without communicating the actions first. Use of a turning signal at all times informs the other drivers of your actions. The biggest way to correct bad habits is do not assume what the other driver is going to do.
Think twice, it’s going to cost you!!!
In California, traffic violations bring in millions of dollars in revenue for the government a year. Traffic violation fines may vary depending if a driver is a first time offender, has prior convictions, in a construction zone, school zone, or in a commercial vehicle.
It is also good for a driver to keep in mind that additional penalties increase fine amounts, if a ticket issued previously is not paid in a timely manner. There are several ticket violations that a Californian driver may receive. However, infractions are the most common. An infraction is a violation that is punishable by a fine, not jail, like misdemeanors.
California highways can be difficult to navigate at times due to overcrowding, congestion, newly developed construction, and poor driving habits. A driver with poor driving habits mentioned earlier may be subjected to one of California’s most common expensive traffic tickets listed here:
- Showing no evidence of financial responsibility CVC 16028, speeding over 100 mph CVC 22348, parking in undesignated locations CVC 22500, will start from $900 to about $1105 with a two-point violation.
- If a driver makes the mistake of passing a school bus, CVC 22454 when warning red lights are flashing, cautioning them to stop, they will receive a $695 fine.
- CVC 21453 otherwise known as red light tickets are highly protested but very costly. Drivers can anticipate a fine of $490; however, a violator that has moved and missed the opportunity to pay the ticket will receive an additional $300 civil penalty.
- A driver’s responsibility is to ensure children safety. No matter how short of a distance the drive is, a child must be buckled up at all times; this applies for ages 8 to 16. If a driver skips CVC 27360 either section (a) or (b), safe measures, they can look forward to a fine starting at $490 and acquiring a one-point violation.
- Speeding tickets CVC 22349 and CVC 22350 are the most common violation among drivers in California. Speeding tickets vary and are higher for those who are in excess of speeds of 26 miles per hour at the time of the offense. Fines for speeding start at about $490 and come with a one-point violation.
- Patience is a virtue that everyone should practice but necessarily everyone does not have. Do not make the mistake of traveling in an authorized carpool lane and receive a violation for CVC 21655.5. This violation carries a fine starting at $490 and a one-point violation.
- Emergency vehicles operate to respond quickly to life threatening situations that jeopardize our chance of living. Drivers that do not yield to an emergency vehicle, CVC 21806, can look forward to a fine starting at $490 with a one point violation. This violation also applies to pedestrian, the difference is there is no one point violation because the offender is on foot.
California drivers’ best solution to avoiding these costly fines is to stay alert. A driver should get in the habit of driving smart and driving safe on the road. Safety with good driving habits makes a world a difference between life and death.