California Vehicle Code 27360.5
It is our sole responsibility, as a driver, to make sure that all passengers are safely secure in our car. Child restraints are used improperly daily. You are not alone the misuse of car and booster seats is common and sometime over looked. Every day we leave with the anticipation of a daily safe commute.
Every state has child restraint laws. Obtaining the proper education and awareness on which child restraint to use for age appropriate children is crucial to abide by the law. The first priority before beginning any drive is to make sure that a child is correctly restraint.
The CDC encourages drivers to:
- If a driver is unsure of how to correctly install car seats, always read, refer to the user’s manual, or get assistance from a certified safety technician. Child seat stations are located throughout the U.S.
- Set a good example for your children by wearing a seat belt.
- Car seats, booster seats, and seat belts are urge for every trip no matter how short of a the distance, on every drive.
- The back seat of the car is the safest place for young children to ride.
- It is recommended that any child that is under the age of 12 years old must ride in the back seat.
- Whenever permissible always buckle children in the middle of the back seat. The middle seat provides the safest position for a child to sit in a car.
- Airbags cause death of young children who ride in the front seat. Never allow a child to ride in the front when there is an airbag is present.
- Rear-facing car seats provide a secure ride for babies and toddlers younger than two years who weigh less than 40 pounds and are less than 40 inches as of January 01, 2017
- Youth that are 7 years and younger who are less than 57 inches in height must utilize a rear facing car seat.
- Toddlers that are in the transition stage of ages two until the age of five may use forward-facing seats in the back seat of the car until thought meeting proper weight and height requirements.
- Kids grow at a fast pace quite often and varies depending on the child. Pre-Kindergarten until kindergarten and up, once a child has reached proper weight and height requirements should remain in booster seat until the seat belt fits properly.
- A seat belt fits properly when the seat belt can lay comfortable across the upper thighs and the shoulder belt lays across the chest.
- Once a seat belt fits properly without the use of a booster seat a child may graduate to the seat belt.
- Any child that is over the age of 16 years old are subject to California’s seat belt law.
What does the California Code say about Child Safety Restraints?
CVC Section 27360.5 instructs that a legal guardian or parent be impermissible from carrying or transporting a child in car on the highway as explained in paragraph (1) of subdivision (c) of Section 27315. Furthermore, a child who is eight years of age or older but less than 16 years of age must be restrained in the appropriate child passenger restraint system and/or seat belt meeting motor vehicle safety guidelines. Subdivision (a) does not apply to a passenger of the car who is also in the car but not the legal guardian or parent and not driving.
Have you received a California Traffic Ticket for Child Safety Restraints?
If you received a traffic ticket under CVC 27360.5, contact our office to discuss how we can help you avoid court, fines, and increased insurance rates. Experience is today’s best teacher. We have more experience than law firms claiming to be traffic ticket lawyers because we channel our entire focus to challenging California traffic tickets. Our experienced legal team is fully focused on your needs and is dedicated to one thing – getting your California traffic ticket dismissed.
What is the punishment for a California Traffic Ticket for Child Safety Restraints?
The fine for a California traffic ticket for “Child Safety Restraints” is up to $350 and one point against your driver’s license. You could plead guilty and pay the fine; however, your automobile insurance could increase for up to three years with the point on your record. Besides that who doesn’t want to keep their driving record squeaky clean. Therefore, a California traffic ticket under this section can be very costly in the long term.
You are not required to plead guilty and take the point on your record. You can challenge your California traffic ticket with Ticket Snipers. You may have a valid defense to your ticket that will result in the ticket being dismissed. Contact our office now to discuss how we can help you avoid fines and other negative consequences of a California traffic ticket. Our agents are friendly and available to help you.