Driving, Overtaking, and Passing Another Vehicle

California Vehicle Code (CVC) § 21750

Officer issuing Driving, Overtaking, and Passing Another Vehicle in California

A Driving, Overtaking, and Passing Another Vehicle ticket will cost you $238 in fines plus $1,000+ in insurance hikes and penalties.

Fight My Ticket Now!

Eligibility Calculator


Ticket Snipers can help challenge this alleged violation for only $179 and when dismissed will eliminate any future insurance hikes, DMV points and traffic school. See your savings for FREE!

Do You Know the Traffic Law for Safe Passing in California?

It is frustrating when you are in a hurry and the driver in front of you refuses even to do the speed limit. You want to pass the vehicle so that you can be on your way. However, if you pass the vehicle in a manner that interferes with the safe operation of the other vehicle, you may receive an expensive ticket under California Vehicle Code 21750.

According to CVC 21750, when you are overtaking a vehicle traveling in the same direction, you must pass to the left of the vehicle “at a safe distance without interfering with the safe operation of the overtaken vehicle.” The code section specifically states that this provision is subject to exceptions and limitations outlined in the other sections within the article.

Specific Laws Related to Passing Other Vehicles

It is important to understand the traffic laws related to passing other vehicles so that you do not endanger yourself or others. In addition, you want to know whether or not a police officer had a valid reason for issuing a traffic ticket for a passing violation. Regardless of whether you believe the traffic ticket is valid, we encourage you to contact our team of traffic ticket experts.

Some of the important rules for passing vehicles include:

In addition to the above traffic rules related to passing vehicles, there are other sections related to passing streetcars, interurban electric car, and horse-drawn vehicle. Also, when you are passing a bicycle, you must leave at least three feet between your vehicle and the bicycle.

  • CVC 21751If you are driving on a two-lane highway, you can pass on the left side of the center line only if you can clearly see that the lane is clear of oncoming traffic. The lane must be clear for a sufficient distance to allow you the distance and time to pass the vehicle safely.
  • CVC 21752You are not permitted to drive on the left side of the road when you are approaching a curve or grade that does not provide sufficient visibility to avoid creating a hazard when passing. Driving in the left lane is also prohibited when approaching within 100 feet or an intersection, railroad grade crossing, tunnel, bridge, or viaduct. This section does not apply to one-way roads.
  • CVC 21754You may pass on the right side of the road if a vehicle is making a left turn; on a highway that has sufficient room for two or more cars to the right; on a one-way street; or, on a highway divided into two roadways when the traffic is restricted to one direction.
  • CVC 21755 You cannot pass a vehicle on the right if you must leave the pavement or main-traveled portion of the road.

You Can Fight a Traffic Ticket and Win!

Before you pay a fine, call Ticket Snipers. We have fought over 10,000 traffic tickets successfully. Receiving a traffic ticket and being guilty of a traffic offense are two separate issues. Furthermore, even if you did commit a traffic offense, it does not mean that you need to pay the ticket. The police officer may have violated your legal rights, or you may have another valid defense to the traffic ticket.

Instead of paying a fine, losing your driving privileges, paying a higher insurance rate, attending traffic school, or going to court, contact our traffic ticket experts. We fight your California traffic ticket for you so that you do not need to deal with the frustration yourself. Contact us now! You will be glad you did!