Keep Your Driver’s License in California, CLEAN!
Operating a vehicle in California requires a valid driver’s license. If you are caught driving a vehicle in California without a driver’s license, you will receive a traffic ticket for violating the California Vehicle Code. Depending on the circumstances, you can be charged with a misdemeanor and face jail time in addition to fines.
If you have been issued a California traffic ticket for failure to have a valid driver’s license while operating a vehicle, contact Ticket Snipers. We offer a money back guarantee for our traffic ticket dismissal service; therefore, you have nothing to lose by contacting us regarding your traffic ticket. Let our professional staff fight your California traffic ticket to save you money, time, and stress.
Traffic Ticket for Failure to Have a Valid Driver’s License
There are three basic situations where you can be charged with failing to have a valid driver’s license in California.
- Operating a Vehicle Without a Valid Driver’s License – CVC 12500(a)
You are prohibited from operating a vehicle without a valid driver’s license. The officer can choose to issue a traffic ticket for violating this code section as an infraction or a misdemeanor. If you are found guilty of a misdemeanor under this code section, you can face fines up to $2,500, suspension of your driver’s license, jail time, probation, and impoundment of your vehicle. A traffic ticket under this code section is a very serious matter that you must address immediately.
- Operating a Vehicle Without Having Your Driver’s License With You – CVC 12951(a)
If you are stopped by a law enforcement officer and you do not have your driver’s license with you, the officer can charge you for this offense. CVC 12951(a) states, “The licensee shall have the valid driver’s license issued to him or her in his or her immediate possession at all times when driving a motor vehicle upon a highway.”
- Operating a Vehicle with a Suspended Driver’s License – CVC 14601
If your driver’s license has been suspended, it is a criminal offense to operate a motor vehicle. A guilty verdict under this vehicle code section results in a permanent criminal record. The potential sentences for a conviction under this code section includes 2 points against your driving record, up to 6 months in jail, up to $2,500 fine, probation, and impoundment of your vehicle for 30 days.
In California, driving without a valid driver’s license is considered a misdemeanor offense. The penalties for driving without a driver’s license can vary depending on the specific circumstances, such as whether it is a first-time offense or a subsequent offense. However, here are the general penalties that can apply:
- First offense: Driving without a valid driver’s license for the first time can result in a fine of up to $250.
- Subsequent offenses: If you are caught driving without a valid driver’s license again within five years of a prior conviction, the penalties can be more severe. It can lead to a fine of up to $1,000 and/or imprisonment in county jail for a maximum of six months.
It’s important to note that these penalties are subject to change, and the exact consequences can depend on various factors. Additionally, if you have a valid driver’s license but simply forgot to carry it with you while driving, you may be able to present it later and have the charges dismissed or reduced.
If you find yourself in a situation where you are facing charges for driving without a valid driver’s license, it is recommended to consult with a legal professional or a qualified traffic attorney to understand the specific penalties and options available to you based on your circumstances.
We Fight Your California Traffic Ticket and We Win!
Contact Ticket Snipers as soon as possible after receiving a California traffic ticket. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for your convenience. Our friendly staff members will answer any questions you may have about our service and explain how we can keep you out of traffic court and traffic school. Before you pay your fine, call our office to discuss your options for getting out of a California traffic ticket.