California Moving Violations are Criminal by Definition
A traffic ticket is actually a crime that is prosecuted under the California Vehicle Code. Some traffic violations are minor with smaller fines and penalties; however, even minor infractions of the vehicle code can have significant and long-term penalties. In addition to paying a fine for pleading guilty to a California traffic ticket, you could be assigned points against your driver’s license that could increase your automobile insurance for several years.
Ticket Snipers is a professional ticket dismissal service in California that helps drivers avoid the fines and increased insurance rates associated with pleading guilty for a moving violation. Paying the fine and pleading guilty to a California traffic ticket is not your only option. Contact our office to discuss how our service can help you keep your good driving record intact.
Examples of Fines and Penalties
California Vehicle Code § 42001 sets forth base penalties for violations of the code:
- $100 for a conviction on a first traffic offense
- $200 for a conviction on a second traffic offense within one year of a prior conviction
- $250 for a conviction on a third or subsequent traffic offense within one year
In addition to the base fines for a California traffic ticket, you may also pay additional fines and incur additional penalties depending on the type of moving violation involved. Below are fines and penalties, in addition to the base fine, for the most common types of California traffic tickets.
- Parking in an unloading or loading zone carries a minimum fine of $250
- Littering on a public highway has fines based on the number of offenses. A first offense has a fine between $100 and $1,000 and 8 hours of community service. For a second offense, the fine increases to an amount between $500 and $1,000 and 16 hours of community service.
- Driving while using a cell phone in California carries a fine of $20 for the first offense and $50 for the second offense. You will also be required to pays fees associated with this traffic violation.
- Failure to wear a seat belt also has a $20 file for the first offense and a $50 fine for the second and subsequent offenses.
- Handicap parking fraud has a very serious penalty. You can spend up to six months in a county jail and pay up to a $1,000 fine.
- Driving with a revoked or suspended driver’s license for DUI results in up to six months in jail and a fine up to $1,000 for the first offense. A second offense under this traffic violation results in up to one year in jail with a mandatory 30-day sentence and a fine up to $2,000 if the offense occurred within five years of the first offense.
Avoiding Fines and Penalties for a California Traffic Ticket?
We will fight your traffic ticket so you can avoid paying the fine for a California moving violation. Our team of professionals are here 24/7 for your convenience. We offer a money back guarantee — if we do not win your case, we give you your money back. You have nothing to lose by trying our service.