Official traffic control signals are installed in locations other than at intersections are seen along many roadways throughout the towns and cities of California. These signals can be found in many places, such as schools, hospitals, large centers of employment, near youth or family entertainment facilities, and shopping centers.
Just because a traffic control signal isn’t located at an intersection, doesn’t mean it can be ignored. Many of these signals are accompanied by a crosswalk, sign or limit line to indicate where a driver is to stop their vehicle. Drivers are required by law to acknowledge that the signal exists and take proper action.
Driving behaviors relating to these types of traffic control signals are regulated by California Vehicle Code 21455, which states:
When an official traffic control signal is erected and maintained at a place other than an intersection, the provisions of this article shall be applicable except those provisions which by their nature can have no application. Any stop required shall be made at a sign or crosswalk or limit line indicating where the stop shall be made, but in the absence of any such sign or marking the stop shall be made at the signal.
If a driver doesn’t stop properly for a traffic control signal, whether or not it’s located at an intersection, or if a law enforcement officer believes a vehicle did not stop correctly based on their point of view of the situation, a citation is likely to be issued for a violation of CVC 21455.
Some examples of signs that fall under CVC 21455 include
- No U-turn
- One Way
- Turning Restrictions
- Railroad Crossing
- Pedestrian Crossing
- Children at Play
As you can see from the examples, these signs address not only roadway safety and behavior, but also safety and warnings as it relates to pedestrians and children that may be present in the surrounding areas. This is why familiarity with roadway signage is a crucial aspect of driving safety.
Failure to Obey Official Traffic Control Signal can be Dangerous
A ticket for a CVC 21455 will cost the driver a fine/fee totaling $238 – and that’s just the ticket. It also carries a point on your driver’s license along with a 3-year stint on your driving record.
If you receive a California traffic ticket for a violation of CVC 21455, you have a couple of different options. You can reach out to our team to get a better understanding of how you can address your citation, or submit your ticket for a free review.