California Vehicle Code 22107
You can’t drive anywhere without having to turn or change lanes at some point in the journey. Of course, there are laws that govern those actions. You’ve most likely seen hundreds of people violating some of these laws – changing lanes or making a turn without using a turn signal, or engaging their turn signal just before making a turn. Even though the driver knows what they are doing and where they intend to navigate their vehicle, other driver’s cannot necessarily anticipate those movements without a turn signal. Driving behind those motorists causes untold amounts of irritation among drivers not to mention that those acts can cause accidents, which is why such laws were enacted.
The California statute that covers signaling before turning or changing lanes is CVC 22107, which states:
No person shall turn a vehicle from a direct course or move right or left upon a roadway until such movement can be made with reasonable safety and then only after the giving of an appropriate signal in the manner provided in this chapter in the event any other vehicle may be affected by the movement.
On the surface, this appears to be short and sweet, and a law that gets right to the point - do not turn unless you can do so safely and when you do, make sure you signal to alert nearby vehicles. However there are some subtle nuances to this law that can easily go unnoticed by the average driver who receives a California traffic ticket for such a violation. The burden of proof is always on the officer as well. Many do not realize that a traffic violation is not a closed case just because you sign the ticket.
Turn Violations can be Costly
A violation of CVC 22107 can be the gateway for an investigation into other violations. A simple traffic stop for not using your turn signal can turn into much more. When an officer stops a driver for this violation, it could possibly open up the door to receiving a citation for a seat belt violation or a distracted driving violation. It could even lead to an open container or suspected DUI investigation. Neglecting to perform the simple act of properly engaging a turn signal has the potential of opening up a whole can of ugly worms.
Many people consider using their turn signal to by fairly inconsequential, but the law disagrees with that assessment. The minimum fine for failing to signal is $237. It is also considered a moving violation, so in addition to the fine, one point would be added to the violator’s driving record. For some people this isn’t a huge amount of money but for others it can mean not being able to pay rent. On top of that there could be a significant increase in your automobile insurance premiums for the next 3 years (or as long as the point remains on your driving record).
If you received a citation for failing to signal, reach out to our knowledgable team and see how we can help you stay on the road with a clean driving record. We will even review your citation free of charge to understand how we can assist in your situation. Submit your ticket for a free review today.