Most of us are at our peak of focus when we are driving. We know exactly where we are headed and what we intend to do. As a result, it can be easy to forget that other drivers cannot read our minds or predict our actions. Using a turn signal is a way to cut down on miscommunication between drivers on the roadway.
What does the California Code say about Proper Signaling?
CVC Section 22108 requires all drivers to make proper notification of a left or right turn at least 100 feet in advance before making the turn. The California Driver Handbook recommends effective ways to properly signal before making a turn.
- Never make assumptions while driving
- If you can’t see them, they can’t see you
- Check all of your mirrors for blind spots
- Don’t make haste decision when changing lanes, think before acting
- Verify that you are using your signal, if not, use your hand and arm to signal
- Drive for you as well as the other driver, when at an intersection allow enough space between your car and the car traveling in the same direction as you
Failing to signal can cause confusion on the roadway and can even lead to accidents, especially in heavy traffic. Even though you know you are intending to change lanes, other drivers don’t… unless you signal.
What is the punishment for a California Traffic Ticket for not Properly Signaling?
The fine for not properly signaling is $237 and one point against your driver’s license. You could plead guilty and pay the fine; however, your automobile insurance could increase for up to three years with the point on your record. Besides, who doesn’t want to keep their driving record squeaky clean?
Have you received a California Traffic Ticket for not Properly Signaling? Call out team today to discuss your options or take advantage of our free ticket review.