California Vehicle Code § 22407
Driving a larger, heavier vehicle is a challenge in itself. However, when the law throws additional restrictions on driving those vehicles on specific areas of the highway, it can be an even more significant challenge. While the restrictions are put in place for the safety of everyone on the highway, both the drivers of the vehicles themselves and other motorists can sometimes be difficult to follow.
Speeding in a Big Rig can be Expensive
In the state of California, speed limits can be reduced to as low as 20 mph for vehicles with a manufacturer’s gross vehicle weight rating of 10,000 pounds or more. These limits can be set anywhere between 20 and 50 mph at 5 mph increments, not leaving much leeway for minor inaccuracies in speedometers, or even for strictly controlling the speed of so much weight.
This is where drivers can run into some trouble and may find themselves with a California traffic ticket for a violation of California Vehicle Code 22407. CVC 22407 is a fairly short statute, but it covers a few important points. It states:
Whenever the Department of Transportation or local authority determines upon the basis of engineering studies and a traffic survey that the speed of 55 miles per hour is more than is reasonable or safe for vehicles mentioned in subdivision (a) of Section 22406, which have a manufacturer’s gross vehicle weight rating of 10,000 pounds or more, in descending a grade upon any portion of a highway, the department or local authority, with respect to highways under their respective jurisdiction, may determine and declare a speed limit of 50, 45, 40, 35, 30, 25, or 20 miles per hour, whichever is found most appropriate to facilitate the orderly movement of traffic and is reasonable and safe, which declared speed limit shall be effective for such vehicles when appropriate signs giving notice thereof are erected upon the highway.
If you find yourself the recipient of a California traffic ticket issued under this statute, it’s not only a nuisance, but it can significantly affect your driving record and vehicle insurance rates.
The fine and fees for this violation are based on the alleged speed, but the categories are narrower than your average speeding violation. The fine for CVC 22407 starts at $284 for violations of 1-9mph over the speed limit. If you are cited for 10mph or more over the speed limit, the minimum fine increases to $489. Additionally, you’ll also accrue a point on your driving record, resulting in an increase in your insurance premium for 3 to 5 years. Since many drivers who are issued these citations are driving commercial vehicles, the impact could be even more severe if the insurance is paid by their employer. If that is the situation you’re in, a CVC 22407 violation could even cost you your job.
Those are some serious consequences, so if you’ve been issued a California traffic ticket under CVC 22407, get in touch with our knowledgable team today to learn about your options. You can also submit your citation for a free ticket review.