Stop, park, or leave standing on state highway where sign posted

California Vehicle Code (CVC) § 22505

A Stop, park, or leave standing on state highway where sign posted ticket will cost you $237 and Up in fines plus $1,000+ in insurance hikes and penalties.

Officer issuing Stop, park, or leave standing on state highway where sign posted in California

Ticket Snipers can help challenge this alleged violation for only $179 and when dismissed will eliminate any future insurance hikes, DMV points and traffic school. Fight My Ticket Now

California Vehicle Code 22505

Daily commutes, family vacations, and business road trips create a lot of travel on roads daily. 87% of daily miles traveled are done in a personal vehicle. Personal vehicles account for 91% of people commuting to work. Depending on the time of the day, some areas are trafficked more than others. The highest time of travel daily is lunch from 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm and 8:00 am – 9:00 am. Drivers travel daily to shop and run errands. Twenty-seven percent of daily travel result in time spent for entertainment, social functions, or to visit family and friends. In our daily trips, about 15% is taken for commuting. Friday is the top day of the week that has the most daily travel.

On the other hand, less daily travel occurs on Sunday. On average men drive longer than women. Driving in city areas, business districts, or locations specifically used for traveling can be quite busy. The average driver spends 55 minutes a day behind the wheel of a car driving. On a normal basis a motorist drives about 29 miles per day. There are various types of vehicles on the road daily; most common are cars and station wagons, with vans or SUVs coming in at a close second.

With all this driving drivers need a place to park their vehicles when not in operation.

Knowing where to park can save a driver a headache and money. Still, a driver should understand where it is illegal to park or leave a vehicle:

  • A bridge or tunnel, except where signs are posted
  • Do not park in the middle of a safety zone and a curb
  • If a no parking sign is present
  • Red curbs symbolizes no stopping, standing, or parking except for red curbs marked for buses
  • Never park on the wrong side of the highway
  • It is unacceptable to park on freeway except in a spot that is permitted, in the event of an emergency, or where an officer or a device requires a motorists to stop
  • When all legal spots at a curb are occupied, do not double park
  • It is never safe to park on or within 7 ½ feet of a railroad track
  • A parking space reserved for a disabled person unless a driver is disabled themselves and possess a placard
  • If a crosshatched pattern is present in a space next to a disabled spot, a driver may not park in the painted area
  • No one should park on a curb that provides wheelchair access to a sidewalk or within 3 feet of a sidewalk ramp for a disabled person
  • A fire station driveway or hydrant should be free and clear of a vehicle within 15 feet
  • A parking space designated for fueling zero-emission vehicles as designated with a sign and displaying a identifying decal
  • It is not permissible to park in front a driveway, a sidewalk, on a marked or unmarked crosswalk, or partially blocking a sidewalk

In the event that a driver has to stop on a freeway, it is important that the driver park the car completely off the pavement and stay in the vehicle until help arrives. It is imperative that a driver leaves enough space for other cars to pass by freely. A car must remain visible for at least 200 feet in either direction.

What does the California Code say about CVC 22505?

The responsibility of the Department of Transportation, according to CVC Section 22505 states that in regards to highways, signs should be in place restricting the stopping, standing, or parking of a vehicle. Including those but not limited to vehicles that are six feet or more in height in the following situations:

  • Parking, stopping, or standing would cause imminent danger or the parking of the vehicle blocks free movement of traffic.
  • Within a half-mile border of a state park system that the Director of Conservation has deemed high fire hazard zone.
  • Within a half-mile boundary of a state park system that could cause harm to those camping nearby.
  • All drivers are prohibited from parking, stopping, or leaving standing a vehicle in violation as stated by markings or signs.
  • This section does not apply to those public utility vehicles performing work jobs.
  • A motorist who is unable to drive a car that has become immobilized making it impossible to avoid leaving the faulty car standing on the highway.

At face-value, a violation for parking or stopping can seem fairly straight-forward, the vehicle code demonstrates that a number of situational parameters must be at play for an individual to be in violation. The circumstances of the surrounding situation as to why the vehicle was stopped or left at the side of the roadway are also significant.

What is the punishment for a California Traffic Ticket for CVC 22505?

The fine minimum for “Parking on a Highway” is $237 and one point against your driver’s license.

Reach out to our team directly if you were cited for a violation of this nature to learn more about your options. You can also submit the citation for a free ticket review.