Headlight Violation (Lighting Equipment)

California Vehicle Code (CVC) § 24250

A Headlight Violation (Lighting Equipment) ticket will cost you $237 and Up in fines plus $1,000+ in insurance hikes and penalties.

Officer issuing Headlight Violation (Lighting Equipment) in California

Ticket Snipers can help challenge this alleged violation for only $179 and when dismissed will eliminate any future insurance hikes, DMV points and traffic school. Fight My Ticket Now

Headlight Violation California Vehicle Code § 24250 (Lighting Equipment)

A vehicle’s headlights are some of the most important safety features it has, and when they don’t work or aren’t used properly you run the risk not only of endangering your own life or that of others, but you also run the risk of getting a ticket.

California Vehicle Code 24250 simply states,

During darkness, a vehicle shall be equipped with lighted lighting equipment as required for the vehicle by this chapter.

The following codes, 24251 through 24255, identify more specific requirements, but they all fall under the basic CVC 24250 code.

How Can You Not Know Your Lights Are Off?

Turning on your vehicle’s headlights when you’re driving in the dark seems to be a no-brainer. You get in, start the engine, turn the lights on, and you’re golden. Right? Unfortunately, as many people have found out over the years, it’s not always that simple.

Say, for instance, you’re in a well-lit parking lot. It’s all too easy to start driving without realizing your headlights are off because you can see just fine without them. This can be even more of an issue if you’re driving a vehicle with automatic headlights. When set to as automatic, you are leaving it up to sensors to detect when lights are needed. Machines are not perfect, and they may fail to detect a need for lights in certain situations such as the one just mentioned. Further, relying on them can also cause individuals to get out of the habit of considering whether or not headlights are needed. Further, if spouse or friend borrows your vehicle and turns the lights off it may not occur to you to check the next time you get behind the wheel and you can get caught with your lights down.

Can Supplemental Lighting Work As A Substitute?

If your vehicle’s headlights are malfunctioning or not in working order due to a mechanical or electrical issue, you might try to use fog lights or running lights as a substitute. Unfortunately, as far as CVC 24250 goes, those lights aren’t compliant with the code so even if you can see fine with them, you can still be ticketed if a police officer spots you.

What Happens If You Receive A Ticket?

If you are ticketed by a police officer for a violation of CVC 24250, and you are found guilty of the violation, you’ll pay a fairly hefty fine (a minimum of $237) and receive a point on your driver’s license. If that happens, you can also expect to see your insurance premium increase, resulting in further expenses for you for years to come.

Did you receive a headlight violation? Our team is here to assist. Reach out for a free ticket review and one of our knowledgable team members will provide you with options for recourse.