Valid Registration

California Vehicle Code (CVC) § 4000

A Valid Registration ticket will cost you $284 and Up in fines plus $1,000+ in insurance hikes and penalties.

Officer issuing Valid Registration in California

Ticket Snipers can help challenge this alleged violation for only $179 and when dismissed will eliminate any future insurance hikes, DMV points and traffic school. Fight My Ticket Now

California Vehicle Code § 4000

Registering a vehicle is a necessary evil that must be repeated over and over again, with the required registration being renewed and properly placed on the vehicle every year. It’s a simple process, but sometimes it just seems to be a tedious waste of time and can be forgotten in the day-to-day hustle and bustle of life. However, in order for a vehicle to legally be driven on the roadways of California, it must have a valid registration and adhere to California’s pollution control regulations. Even if the vehicle is not driven, this law must be followed if the vehicle is located, either temporarily or permanently, on pretty much any type of public property.

So what exactly does that mean for vehicle owners? It means your vehicle must be properly registered and abide by California’s pollution control regulations not only when it’s driven, but when it’s parked in a public parking garage or on the side of a road or in a public parking space, even on the shoulder of a highway. But the law doesn’t just cover cars and trucks – it also includes trailers and various types of dollies that are often towed behind vehicles.

The law that deals with these regulations is California Vehicle Code 4000. While the Code is quite lengthy and includes several sections which cover more specific situations, the main two sections read:

  • (a) (1) A person shall not drive, move, or leave standing upon a highway, or in an offstreet public parking facility, any motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer, pole or pipe dolly, or logging dolly, unless it is registered and the appropriate fees have been paid under this code or registered under the permanent trailer identification program, except that an off-highway motor vehicle which displays an identification plate or device issued by the department pursuant to Section 38010 may be driven, moved, or left standing in an offstreet public parking facility without being registered or paying registration fees.
  • (b) No person shall drive, move, or leave standing upon a highway any motor vehicle, as defined in Chapter 2 (commencing with Section 39010) of Part 1 of Division 26 of the Health and Safety Code, that has been registered in violation of Part 5 (commencing with Section 43000) of Division 26 of the Health and Safety Code.

Driving Without Valid Registration in California can be Expensive

Traffic tickets that are issued for violations of CVC 4000 carry a minimum fine . For some paying that ticket could mean not having money to pay an essential bill or buy groceries. Additionally, even though this violation is considered a non-moving violation, it could still count against your driving record in the future.

If you received a violation for failing to possess valid registration, our team may be able to assist. Reach out to us today to learn more about your options or submit your citation for a free ticket review.