License Plate Display Failure

California Vehicle Code (CVC) § 5200

Officer issuing License Plate Display Failure in California

A License Plate Display Failure ticket will cost you $197 in fines plus $1,000+ in insurance hikes and penalties.

Fight My Ticket Now!

Eligibility Calculator


Ticket Snipers can help challenge this alleged violation for only $179 and when dismissed will eliminate any future insurance hikes, DMV points and traffic school. See your savings for FREE!

Although the state of California issues two license plates for most vehicles, many vehicle owners choose not to install one of them on their front bumper.

This can happen for several reasons, from marring the sleek lines of an expensive sports car to interfering with the winch attachment on a sturdy truck. Some drivers may opt to put the front plate on their dashboard or attach it to the visor. Unfortunately, neglecting to properly install a front license plate on your vehicle registered in California is a violation of the law.

California Vehicle Code 5200 includes two sections, which state:

(a) When two license plates are issued by the department for use upon a vehicle, they shall be attached to the vehicle for which they were issued, one in the front and the other in the rear.

(b) When only one license plate is issued for use upon a vehicle, it shall be attached to the rear thereof, unless the license plate is issued for use upon a truck tractor, in which case the license plate shall be displayed in accordance with Section 4850.5.

Most of the time, a CVC 5200 violation is issued in conjunction with a moving violation of some sort. A driver is pulled over for speeding, impeding traffic, neglecting to come to a complete stop at a stop sign, signaling improperly—of course, the list of possibilities goes on. If you are stopped for a moving violation and you haven’t properly installed your front license plate, chances are good that the officer will notice the missing plate and cite you in accordance with CVC 5200 along with whatever other ticket is issued.

However, this isn’t always the case. An officer can issue a citation for CVC 5200 whether or not you’re found to be doing anything else wrong. He might see you driving down the road following all the rules, and he can still pull you over for the missing plate. Or your vehicle could be parked and catch the eye of a meter maid, or any enforcement officer, and you could return to your vehicle only to find a citation slipped under one of your windshield wipers.

There is a solution, beat your ticket today

A ticket for a violation of CVC 5200 is a non-moving violation and will not garner you a point on your license or increase your car insurance premium like a moving violation with a point will. However the ticket can cost up to $197 in fines and fees if you decide to not contest the ticket and just pay it. There are, of course, other ways to deal with the situation. You could try to figure out the system yourself, or spend a day in court if you try to fight the ticket on your own. There is a better way—contact Ticket Snipers.

The legal experts at Ticket Snipers know what it takes to not only fight your traffic ticket, but to fight it and win. Since 2008, Ticket Snipers has helped more than 10,000 drivers just like you fight traffic tickets of all kinds that were issued throughout the state of California. We have done so with a higher success rate and much lower fees than any high-priced traffic attorney.

Ticket Snipers was created for one purpose, and one purpose only—to provide drivers with an affordable, legal way to fight traffic tickets issued in California. Our team of experts are fully licensed and bonded, and trained in the fastest and most effective ways of fighting traffic tickets for both moving violations and non-moving violations.

Our process makes it as simple as possible for you and keeps you out of the courtroom. Our service is provided for a flat up-front fee with no hidden charges, our fees are the lowest you’ll find. Best of all, we have a simple service fee refund. If we don’t win, you get your service fee back. Before we get started, we’ll even answer all your questions—at absolutely no charge.

If you’ve been issued a citation for violation of CVC 5200, contact Ticket Snipers and see how we can help.