Here is a list of the new driving laws changes for California in 2018
Every year new changes are made to the California Vehicle Code (CVC) in efforts to keep up with technological and society advancements. Some of these statues do not take effect until July 1st, 2018.
Here are the important driving laws changes you need to be aware of:
- CANNABIS USE
Cannabis use in vehicles prohibits smoking or ingesting marijuana or marijuana products while driving or riding as a passenger. Penalties could be as severe as for drunk driving.
- RIDESHARING DRIVERS
Beginning July 1, it will be unlawful for a person to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.04 percent or more when a passenger is in the vehicle. This will mean that drivers of a passenger for hire, in their personal vehicles, will be held to a higher standard of safety while transporting people.
The DMV will suspend a person’s driver license if a conviction is added to their record.
- BUSES, SEATBELTS
Beginning July 1, this law requires a passenger on a bus equipped with seatbelts to be properly restrained by a safety belt.
This law also prohibits a parent, guardian, or chartering party to transport on a bus, or permit to be transported on a bus, a child who is at least 8 years of age but under 16, unless they are properly restrained by a safety belt.
- PARKING TICKETS
Unpaid parking violations for registration or driver license renewal now allows low-income Californians with outstanding parking violations to repay fines and penalties prior to the parking violation being reported to the DMV.
This law authorizes the DMV to accept a certificate of satisfactory completion of any motorcyclist-training program approved by the CHP in lieu of the required motorcycle skills test.
Applicants for an original motorcycle license or motorcycle endorsement under 21 years of age continue to be required to complete a novice motorcyclist-training program.
A pedestrian can begin crossing an intersection while facing a traffic signal displaying a flashing “DON’T WALK” or “Upraised Hand” symbol if the traffic signal includes a countdown timer and the pedestrian can complete the crossing before the signal goes to a steady “DON’T WALK” or “Upraised Hand.”
- HIGHER AUTO FEES
The DMV will begin collecting at the time of registration or renewal extra fees ranging from $25 to $175, based on the vehicle’s current value.
Relief is just around the corner
If you are cited for any of these violations. You are not required to plead guilty and take the point on your record. You can challenge your California traffic ticket with Ticket Snipers. You may have a valid defense to your ticket that will result in the ticket being dismissed.
Contact our office now to discuss how we can help you avoid fines and other negative consequences of a California traffic ticket. Our agents are friendly and available to help you.