Speeding Violation

California Vehicle Code (CVC) § 22349(b)

A Speeding Violation ticket will cost you $367 and Up in fines plus $1,000+ in insurance hikes and penalties.

Officer issuing Speeding Violation in California

Ticket Snipers can help challenge this alleged violation for only $179 and when dismissed will eliminate any future insurance hikes, DMV points and traffic school. Fight My Ticket Now

Speeding Violations in California are Expensive if not Dismissed

What is the true cost of a speeding ticket in California?

The cost of a speeding ticket depends on what code section you are cited for, your alleged speed, the fees and court costs that may be added onto the fine, and the increase in your automobile insurance. It is estimated that the true cost of a California speeding ticket is 20.27 times the actual fine.

In some cases, you may be eligible to attend traffic school to avoid having points assessed against your driver’s license; however, traffic school is not available for all speeding tickets in California and certain insurance providers increase rates based on violation convictions, regardless of points.

The California Vehicle Code contains several statutes regarding speeding violations. CVC Section 22349 is one of the code sections that limit speed limits on certain roads. According to the code, “Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no person may drive a vehicle upon a two-lane, undivided highway at a speed greater than 55 miles per hour unless that highway, or portion thereof, has been posted for a higher speed by the Department of Transportation or appropriate local agency.” When determining if a highway qualifies under this section, you do not consider passing lanes when counting the through lanes and there cannot be more than one through lane of travel in the same direction.

California Vehicle Code 22349(b) Maximum Speed Limit Violations Can be Costly

A conviction of Exceeding the Maximum Speed Limit under CVC 22349(b) is a one-point violation with a fine determined by the actual speed you are traveling when stopped.

  • Exceeding the speed limit of 55 mph by 1 – 15 mph carries a minimum fine of $238
  • 16 – 25 mph over the limit is at minimum $367
  • 26 mph and over is at minimum $490

If you have been cited for speeding violation in California and would like to understand what options you have to avoid the consequences associated with the ticket, reach out to our knowledgeable team for a free ticket review.