Basic Rule Speeding Tickets Are Beatable
California Vehicle Code 22350 is one of those things that can really take the wind out of your sails. Especially if you’re driving along at, or below, the posted speed limit and the person who gets out of the car with the flashing lights cites you for driving too fast. You might ask yourself how that can even happen, but it can and does happen all the time.
The “how” is due to California Vehicle Code 22350 which is referred to as the “Basic Speed Law”.
CVC 22350 states, “No person shall drive a vehicle upon a highway at a speed greater than is reasonable or prudent having due regard for weather, visibility, the traffic on, and the surface and width of, the highway, and in no event at a speed which endangers the safety of persons or property.”
On the surface, that seems to be pretty reasonable – don’t drive too fast for the conditions. But who determines what that actually means? A poor driver might need to drop down to 25 mph under conditions that a good driver could easily handle at 35 or 40 mph. Even in California, there are areas which see a good bit of snow in the winter.
So if you are heading to a ski resort, driving your 4-wheel drive vehicle through two feet of snow, and you are quite adept at doing so, you’re going to be able to drive at a faster speed in those conditions than someone who has never driven in the snow and is behind the wheel of a Mini Cooper.
The Officer has an Extremely High Burden of Proof
So it’s the police officer who decides whether or not you are obeying or violating CVC 22350 when you are seen driving through the white fluffy stuff at 45 mph. That makes this particular code quite subjective and not applicable in the same way to every driver. It also makes a citation issued under this code very disputable – if you know the right way to go about it.
That’s where our team of traffic ticket experts comes in. We have been fighting traffic tickets in California for drivers just like you since 2008, with more than 10,000 success stories. If you’ve been issued a ticket under CVC 22350, you could certainly just pay the fine. After all, the base fine for a violation of this type is only $35 to $100. But don’t forget about the unseen costs – a point on your driver’s license or an extra fee to go to traffic school, an increase in your insurance premiums, and the additional state and county fees and other assessments that are added which can bring the total out of pocket cost close to $500.
The members of our legal team are experts in fighting traffic tickets. It’s the only thing they do, and they are the best at what they do.
Over the years, we developed a set of procedures unlike anything any other traffic ticket lawyer or service does. Because we are so specialized, we know the ins and outs and all the little details others don’t, and our services are performed for a rate lower than any fine to the court. Not only that, but in the unlikely event that we are not successful in getting your ticket dismissed, we offer a refund of our service fee. Give us a call or get started online, and let us take care of the details.